Days Go By..Way Too Fast

I apologize for the lack of blogs lately, my life has gotten crazy busy! The days seem shorter than normal and it’s like there aren’t enough hours in the day to finish everything.  They say Junior year is the busiest year of your college career since most of the entry-level courses have been completed but for me that is not quite the issue.  My courses are really easy this semester and I have been blessed with a wonderful schedule; the problem arises with the extracurricular activities I’m taking part in. Between Chi Omega requirements, Homecoming pomping hours, sleep, work and school, there isn’t much time for anything else.  With all of this said, I’m extremely busy, which got me thinking.  “WHERE DID MY LIFE GO?!”

It seems like just yesterday I was scared to walk into my class first day of freshman year because I didn’t quite know where I was really supposed to be. Now I’m a Junior and so much has happened in these past few years that I can’t believe I lived through all of it! I guess the point of this post is just to write how crazy it is that life continues to run past you even if you’re not ready for it.  It sounds dumb and obvious but when you really think about it, there is nothing you can do about time.

My mom teaches kindergarten and she always tells them, “you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit”. Well, I’ve got a little bit of time left in college and the idea of that makes me want to throw a fit! I don’t feel old enough to be going into the real world, AT ALL!! When I was little I thought when I was older that I was going to be a completely different person and that I would have my life together and I would know where I was going.  I was clearly a very optimistic and naive child because I have no idea what I’m doing and most of the people around me are in the same boat.  I don’t know where I am going after college and it’s terrifying knowing that in just a few years I am going to be pushed into the real world.

I have Peter Pan syndrome and there is nothing that can be done to cure it.  I always tell myself to appreciate the time I have where I am but I get so busy and easily forget.  So this has turned into an inspirational post as well! For those of you reading this who are unhappy with where you are in life, have no fear! Tough it out for a few more days and before you know it, something new will come along and change your spirits.  And for all who are loving life how it is, don’t take it for granted because it goes by so fast.

I am aware of how cheesy this sounds but when you look back on the past few months of your life and ask yourself, “What have I been doing and how is this pertinent to my future?” and the answer is “I don’t know?” reevaluate your decisions.  Life is too short to be occupied with people and things that aren’t building you!

“It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all in which case, you fail by default.” – J.K. Rowling

 

Leave a Reply

